I’ve been wanting to make these for ages… and they are every bit as good as you would expect!

Banana Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups plain flour

2 1/2 t baking powder

3/4 cup brown sugar

3 small mashed bananas

2/3 cup of milk

1 egg

1/3 cup oil

1/2 cup choc chips

* Any icing you like in the middle, my lazy chocolate butter cream icing recipe is at the bottom!

* notes – The original recipe I have tweeked to make these called for 2 eggs, but we have allergies in the house and I find one egg works fine here.   I use oil rather than butter, because butter is crazy expensive, but if you would rather use butter, it’s approx 100gms melted!

************************************************************

Sieve the flour and baking powder, then crumble the brown sugar into it, using your fingers to break up any sugar lumps. Add the chocolate chips.

In a seperate bowl, mash up the banana, add the milk, oil and egg and whisk to combine.

Add the wet to the dry and mix together.

the mixture

Line a baking tray with paper, then dollop on spoonfuls of mixture.  I used a 1/4 measuring cup to make them all the same size, and baked 6 at a time.  This made the whoopie pies quite big, so you might want to use a smaller measure.  Make sure you leave room between them so they can spread.

Bake for 10 minutes, then put on a rack to cool and bake the next lot.

whoopies cooling

Once the whoopie pies have cooled, pile on the butter cream icing and sandwich together…

EAT THEM!

the finished whoopie pies!

********************************************************

Lazy chocolate butter cream

Sometimes I can’t be bothered faffing about with the blender.  So here is how I make icing when I’m in a hurry or just want to get to the eating part in a hurry!

2 cups icing sugar

2 heaped tablespoons of cocoa

50-ish gms of butter (or what ever I guess is good and hack off!)

I stick the butter in the microwave for about 20 seconds till it’s sort of melted.  Mush it down then I sieve in the icing sugar and cocoa, mix it all up with a few dribbles of water till I get the consistency I like… and it’s done!!

....mmmmm.....
