This week I’ve seen two different blokes on Food TV giving flat chocolate chip cookies a whirl.  So I had to have a go.

I decided to take bits and pieces from the recipes talked about on the tele, and make my own batch.

I liked the idea of using melted butter and not having to do the “creaming” step for a change.  I agreed with the idea of turning the tray in the oven half way through the baking – much more even bake this way.  And not having to chill the mix was a plus as well.. so my darling chickens, I give you my skinny bikkies!

The kids loved them which is always a good response!  They are quite crisp and crunchy, perfect for dunking in your cup of tea or Milo!

You will need:

250gm melted butter

350gm sugar.  I used a mixture of caster and light brown

2 eggs

1 t vanilla

300gm plain flour

400gm flat chocolate buttons of any variety you like – dark, milk or white!

What to do:

Pour your melted butter into the sugar and mix with a whisk till all combined.

Add the eggs and vanilla.  Whisk until it’s all combined.

Flour goes in next, closely followed by the chocolate buttons.

When everything is all mixed up, dollop spoonfuls  onto a lined baking tray.  Make sure you leave plenty of room for spreading!

Bake at 180 degrees for 5 minutes, then turn the baking tray around in the oven (so the ones that were at the back are now at the front!) and give them another 4 to 5 minutes.  They’ll be golden brown and delicious looking!

Give them a couple of minutes to harden up a little, then transfer to a cooling rack.

Gobble, gobble, gobble! 

