So my little chickens, after the success of the Kiwi version of Belgium biscuits yesterday, I was feeling quite chuffed to have found out that they had biscuit cousins on the other side of the world.

The Scottish Empire Biscuit appears to be a well loved and delicious baked item, and I read a few blog posts from people sharing their fond memories of going along to their local bakery in their Scotland-land home towns and having these wee treats!

So I thought it would be quite nice to try out the Empire Biscuit.

20130609-172511.jpg

I found a Scottish recipe, and some advice that suggested the dough would be very soft so to have plenty of flour on hand.  I didn’t need 48 biscuits, so gave the ingredient amounts a bit of a tweek, and came up with the following recipe.

The dough is in fact, very soft.  It took a bit of trial and error, but my suggestion for less mess and ease of cleaning up, is roll the dough out between two sheets of baking paper, but sprinkle the bottom piece of baking paper with flour first.  Then once you’ve pressed out your biscuit shapes, you can use a fish slice to slide them across on to your baking trays.

I would like to take a moment to show off and tell you that I had run out of jam, so I used the half bag of berries I had in the freezer, and threw in some lemon juice and brown sugar, and 10 minutes later I had my own batch of jam… it was delicious!

And making jam is so fabulously domestic and seems like a totally mad yoke of a thing to do, but when it turns out so lovely, it makes you feel like Nigella, although my dressing gown is not silk. And was splattered in blackberry juice and flour, which never seems to happen to Nigella!

They baked in my fan forced oven in 8 minutes.  I iced the tops first, and used a wee red m&m on each for decoration – glace cherry is the traditional way to go but YIK YAK YUCK!  The only time they cross my threshold is when I reluctantly put them in Christmas cakes for other people.

Be generous with your jam in the middle; no one appreciates a stingy spread of jam when enjoying a treat like this, and it really adds to the deliciousness!

Right off we go!

Scottish Empire Biscuits (makes 12 finished biscuits)

20130609-172531.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 225gms butter
  • 100gms sugar
  • 500gms plain flour

Decorate with:

  • Half a cup of jam
  • icing sugar and milk or water to form spreadable icing.
  • a lollie or if you must, half a glace cherry for the top of each pair of biscuits

Directions:

Step One

Cream butter and sugar for three minutes, until light and fluffy.

Step two

Slowly add flour until mixture comes together to form a soft dough, It will still be a bit sticky.  Have some spare flour handy!

Step three

Divide dough in two, then roll out each section of dough between baking paper, and cut out with 6cm cookie cutter.

Place biscuits on trays lined with baking paper, and bake in the oven at 180 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes.

Step Four

Allow biscuits to cool on a rack, then ice each top with white icing and a little red lollie. Spread a good dollop of jam on each bottom and carefully mush the tops on.

Step Five

Present to guests and tell them all about how WellyChelle taught you about biscuit cousins!

20130609-172522.jpg

